Facebook and Instagram are two of the biggest social media platforms in the world. They have a combined user base of more than 2.2 billion people. Because of this, it’s important to know how to unlink your Instagram account from your Facebook profile. Unlinking your accounts means that the apps on both platforms will no longer be able to sync and communicate with one another. If you ever want to go back to your original account, you’ll need to unlink it first. In this guide, we’ll show you how to unlink your Facebook and Instagram accounts. We’ll also share a few alternatives to social media if you decide you want to go back to being “just” a Facebook user.
Why Unlink Your Accounts?
There are a few good reasons to unlink your accounts. The main one is privacy. It’s worth noting that once you link your accounts on Facebook and Instagram, the apps will sync data to make it easier to maintain a single online presence. This means that if you post photos to one of your accounts, they’ll also get posted to the other. Unlinking your accounts means that you can take photos and posts from one platform and then not include them on the other. This could be useful for sharing private photos or posts that you don’t necessarily want to include on your public account.
How to Unlink Your Accounts
You can unlink your accounts in a few different ways. The most straightforward option is to visit your settings on the Facebook app or website. From there, you can follow the steps below:
- Log In to Facebook or Instagram and Click on Your Account Name in the Top Right Corner
- Next, Click on “Edit Your Account” near the bottom of the Settings Screen
- Scroll to the bottom of this page and you’ll see a “link accounts” option. Select this option and then follow the on-screen instructions to unlink your accounts.
Another option is to visit your Instagram account settings. From there, you can follow the steps below:
- Log in to your Instagram account
- Go to “link this account” at the bottom of your account settings
- Select “Add account” and follow the on-screen instructions to unlink your accounts.
What Happens When You Unlink Your Accounts?
Once you unlink your accounts, you won’t be able to use them together anymore. This means that posts from either platform won’t show up on the other. Facebook users can still see Instagram posts on Facebook, but Instagram users can’t see your posts from Facebook.
You also won’t be able to link your Facebook and Instagram accounts after you unlink them. This means that if you ever want to go back to linking your accounts, you’ll need to unlink them again.
Unlinking your accounts will also delete any photos, posts, and comments that you’ve made to each account. Photos will stay on your device, but any other posts will be gone. This is true for both your Facebook and Instagram accounts. If you want to keep photos and posts from one account, you’ll need to unlink it and then link it again.
What Happens If You Unlink Your Accounts and Don’t Restore Them?
If you ever want to go back to linking your accounts, you’ll need to unlink them and then link them again. If you don’t, then your accounts will be deleted entirely. If this happens, you’ll lose content from each account that you were linked to.
If you have a business account that’s linked to both Facebook and Instagram, then you’ll also lose access to any web links or custom URLs that you’ve added to your account. For example, if you’ve added a “website” link to your Facebook account, then you won’t be able to access that link if you unlink your accounts.
Unlinking your accounts from Facebook and Instagram will delete your posts and photos from both platforms. You won’t be able to use the apps again until you decide to link them once again. Losing content from your accounts is a huge concern, but it’s also an easy fix. If you ever want to go back to linking your accounts, you can always unlink them and then link them again.